Author of the Week: C.C.Cole, Gastar Series

This week author of the week is C.C.Cole author of The Gastar Series.

C.C.Cole is an independent writer and these are self-published novellas.  She’s also a book reviewer. Check out her blog at: http://www.shevata-cccole.blogspot.com

Please also make sure to visit previous authors of the week if you didn’t do that yet – https://joeyavniel.wordpress.com/category/author-of-the-week/ , and visit my new post about my coming book: Drama with Mama.

A review from Amazon: Act of Redemption – While reading this book, I found myself transported to the fantasy land of Gastar, with all its many exciting and mystical characters. The book has a Conan the Barbarian meets King Arthur vibe, with an old school, Saturday morning TV show type flavor; that I enjoyed so much as a child. The characters were totally engaging and lifelike. This is a must read for all my fellow Dungeon and Dragon fans, but be warned, once you start reading the book, you will not be able to put it down. Can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

About the series: Gastar Series is a series of four novellas when completed. The first, First Book of the Gastar Series was published in 2009, and the second Children of Discord was published in 2011. The third, “Point of Return” should be out by fall 2012. The novellas are medieval dark fantasy/action/adventure that follow teen assassin Shevata as she travels through the history of the city of Gastar to seek redemption for her past actions and to re-gain her soul.

I asked C.C.Cole (pen name) a few questions:

How would you convince someone to read your book in 140 characters or less?
I usually mention a strong female lead character in a dialogue-driven, action novella.

Is there anything you can tell me about your book that no one knows?
Some may know this, but the first edits of “Act of Redemption” had Shevata a much darker character than she is now.  That’s a statement to those who’ve read it.

What life experiences made you write your book?
I began writing fiction as a creative outlet following the death of my sister following a domestic violence incident.  None of the characters represent her or the situation.  I’ve done several blog and radio interviews about domestic violence, but I keep the details of her death private. I’ve written an article about it in my blog, “The Tragedy Behind the Gastar Series.”

How close are the events and characters in your story to real events and characters?
Shevata is a former child of war, so her creation is loosely based upon the many societies that use children for soldiers, as in WWII or the Khmer Rouge, just naming a couple of examples.  The antagonist charcter Zermon in “Act of Redemption” is based on my older brother’s personality, but not the evil part.  It’s now a family joke, when he gets obnoxious, we call him “Zermon.”

What was your happiest moment as an author?
When I got my first positive input from readers, through conversation and reviews.

What can you tell me about your ideal reader?
My audience is for people that like action, strong female leads, and less romance.  The novellas have numerous non-human characters, such as dragons, demons, and vampires, with a medieval backdrop (swords, daggers, castles, etc), so audiences with that preference tend to like the books.

When did you know you were going to be an author?
I thought I would become a writer someday when I was around 10 years old, decades ago.

If you could talk to your readers while they are reading your book, what would you tell them?
I’d tell them that I hope they like a fast-paced action story, because that’s what the novellas are.  These are not epics; the center of the story is the lead character.  I ask them to tell me if Shevata isn’t “bad” enough, but nobody’s said that yet.

Which author influenced you the most?
Michael Chrichton, with his style in “Timeline.”  The book is much better than the film.  He tended to break situations inside chapters, and as the chapters change, may/may not stay with the same group, thus creating a thrilling page-turning ride.

Tell me one unique thing about yourself that no other author in the world (as far as you know) shares.
I’m not sure what that would be, but I will say I write without expectation.  While I like success as much as any other author, I prefer to enjoy the journey and not use my energy to count how much money I make or make dreams of “Harry Potter-level” success.

What’s the funniest line you ever wrote?
Shevata referred to blood-drinkers (vampires) as stupid.  Simon, the vampire, says, “We’re not stupid.”  She said, “Yes, you are.”  They may not seem funny written that way, but editors and readers mention that line often to me from “Children of Discord.”

If you could choose one super power, what would it be and why?
I’d follow the example set by King Solomon and choose “Wisdom.”  Whether one is religious or not, wisdom gives the better chances of a favorable outcome regardless of the situation.  Shevata’s “super power” is telekinesis, so she can enhance weaponry with her mind, making her a nasty adversary.  Wisdom she definitely could use.

What’s next?
After the final two Gastar novellas are finished, I’m considering a medical thriller, which is more mainstream.   I hope I’ve developed enough maturity as an author to accomplish it.

About joeyavniel

Author of the book "One-Legged Seagull, A Warrior's Journey to Inner Peace" - A fable that will transform your life to be at peace.

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Author of the Week. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

