Author of the Week: Shawn Lamb, THE HUGUENOT SWORD

This week author of the week is Shawn Lamb author of The Huguenot Sword.
Please also make sure to visit previous authors of the week if you didn’t do that yet.

I asked Shawn a few questions:

Q: How would you convince someone to read your book in 140 characters or less?
A: Think only Dumas has Musketeers? Think again for swashbuckling adventure.

Q: What was your happiest moment as an author?
A: A mother told me how her daughter waited a whole year to see if I would return to a home school convention. As soon as the daughter saw my name on the list, she circled it to be the first booth to visit and buy my other books.

Q: What can you tell me about your ideal reader?
A: I gear all my books towards those who want good, stories about memorial characters without all the sex, language and inappropriate material becoming so pervasive in books. There are more people – kids and adults – who want to read clean books than publishers are willing to acknowledge. That doesn’t mean I don’t tackle hard issues, because I do, I just don’t cross the line.

Q: When did you know you are going to be an author?
A: I’ve wanted to be an author for years. I began writing when I was a teenager. In fact, The Huguenot Sword is the first book I ever wrote when I was 16. I got my first professional break back in the 1980s when I wrote for the Filmation animated series BraveStarr. This was the same studio that produced He-Man and She-Ra. I learned a lot that translated well to my fiction writing style.

Q: If you could talk to your readers while they are reading your book, what would you tell them?
A: Enjoy.  Stories should be enjoyed and, if done well, leave a lasting impression.

Q: Which author influenced you the most?
A: Where The Huguenot Sword and historical fiction is concerned, Dumas, naturally, but also Taylor Caldwell, John Jakes and Mary Stewart. I love the style where the characters are so immersed and involved it is hard to tell them from the real people.

Q: Tell me one unique thing about yourself that no other author in the world (as far as you know) shares.
A: I trained for the Olympics under Ralph Faulkner, the once Hollywood fencing/fight master for such stars at Basil Rathbone and Errol Flynn. I was also considered as the fencing stunt double for Bo Derek in a pirate movie, which unfortunately got cancelled.

Q: What’s the funniest line you ever wrote?
A: Nigel was antsy.  It’s from the Allon series and seems to get a chuckle from those who read it.

Q: What’s next?
A: In 2012, I plan to release 2 more in the Allon YA fantasy series and another historical fiction for adults set during the English Civil War.

Thanks Shawn for your answers.
Learn more about her book here:

http://www.allonbooks.com/huguenot_sword.html

About joeyavniel

Author of the book "One-Legged Seagull, A Warrior's Journey to Inner Peace" - A fable that will transform your life to be at peace.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Author of the Week. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Another nice interview. I’ll have to visit over here more often. Glad I found this blog.

Leave a Reply

