Author of the Week: Linda Hawley, The Prophecies book series

This week author of the week is Linda Hawley author of The Prophecies book series.

And this week we are going to have a 5 eBooks giveaway!!
Linda decided to give you 5 eBook copies of her book 1 in the series (Dreams Unleashed) for free!
All you have to do is to visit The Prophecies Series Facebook Fan Page, click the “like” button, then come back to my blog and leave a comment that you did it. 5 of you will get a free ebook!

Dreams Unleashed

Dreams Unleashed

I’m almost done reading the first book in the series, Dreams Unleashed, and I can’t wait to read the other 2 books in the series. The way this author combines past, present future and dreams pulls you into the story. You will not be able to put down this multilayer thriller. Sometimes because you must know what is going to happen next. And sometimes because you must know what happened before. Every time I thought the author can’t surprise me anymore, something new happened, adding to my joy of reading. I highly recommend reading it, and you have a chance to win a free ecopy.

Linda Hawley  was kind enough to answer a few questions:

Q:  Your book series takes on a future world in 2015 where the government controls the people.  Why write this dystopian topic?
A:  Look around at the unrest here in America, and around the world.  Things are falling apart.  Worldwide, we can’t trust politicians, lawmakers, and others in power.  I simply wrote about things that I see happening right now, and what they will become in 2015, if we don’t change our path.

Q:  As a follow up to this last question, tell us about the tracking technology in the series.  Is it real?
A:  Yes.  All the technology I’ve written about in book one is real.  I’m a very good researcher, and I dug in to write accurately about the technology that’s tracking humans in 2015.  Almost everything in the series is real, except the characters, and their actions.  I wanted to ground the series, so that my readers would learn about what’s really going on in the world, as they read this fictional story.

Q:  There is a lot of drama and discord between citizens around the world and the governments in The Prophecies series.  Do you believe in conspiracy theories?
A:  No.  But here is what I am…I’m a news junkie.  I read from five news sources every day–and not all of them are based in the USA.  I get a global perspective, and then write in my stories about what I learn.  There are many *buried* truths that not a lot of people know about.  I am proud of the fact that if you read The Prophecies, you’ll learn about how we got in the shape we’re in as a people.

Guardian Of Time

Guardian Of Time

Q:  There is drama in your series, but in the book reviews, your characterizations stand strong.  Tell us about writing & developing the characters of the protaganist of The Prophecies.
A:  Honestly, I think my gift as a writer is in my characterizations, not my plot and subplots.  My characters are so well known to me that I feel they are living in my house with me.  The heroine, Ann Torgeson, is who I created first, and by the time I had fully developed her, she came alive and I knew I was writing more than one book.  As I wrote Dreams Unleashed (book one in the series), I was about one third of the way through the manuscript when I realized that something just wasn’t quite right.  I then went back and changed the entire manuscript to first-person.  When I did that, the story came alive, and I knew I had things moving in the right direction.  Some book reviewers have said that they generally dislike books written in the first person, but in this series, it really works.  That made me happy.

Q:  Who’s the reader of The Prophecies?
A:  Age 40+, people who think about things, ponderers, news-watchers, adventurers. Although I will say that there are many young people who are really enjoying the series–even teens.

Q:  Tell us one message about The Prophecies series.
A:  It’s about hope.  If you need a little hope in your life, read it.

Q: Where can I buy your books?
A: BOOK 1 – Dreams Unleashed, 2nd Edition
Amazon:  http://amzn.to/vd0fjb
B&N:  http://bit.ly/uCECdo
Smashwords:  http://bit.ly/uk1MGe

BOOK 2 – Guardian of Time
Amazon:  http://amzn.to/vZVAox
B&N:  http://bit.ly/tWV4WR
Smashwords:  http://bit.ly/t1EDQu

Linda Hawley

Linda Hawley

The Prophecies book series synopsis:
It’s the near future, and society is government-controlled.  Technology tracks everyone, and personal privacy does not exist.  The hope for freedom lies in the operations of an underground organization, GOG, which fights against worldwide oppression.  Their most powerful weapon is Ann Torgeson, a paranormally-gifted operative.  It’s her powers that release the seal of The Prophecies, changing the world forever.
The Prophecies Book Trailer:  http://bit.ly/sUEkxM
Author’s Website:  http://www.lindahawley.com/
Author’s Fan Page:  http://www.facebook.com/ThePropheciesSeries
Author’s Twitter Page:  http://twitter.com/LindaHawley/

About joeyavniel

Author of the book "One-Legged Seagull, A Warrior's Journey to Inner Peace" - A fable that will transform your life to be at peace.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for reading and reviewing! : )
    Linda

  2. Wow. Sounds incredibly interesting. I’m a “news junky”, too. About the only news that doesn’t interest me is the filtered messages on American TV. Fav sources are Jpost, Al-Jezeera, The Guardian in the UK. I just know I would love your books.

  3. Oh, forgot to mention that I liked the FB page and am hoping to win an e-book (PDF).

Leave a Reply

